Healthcare Disparities Committee

The events of 2020 and the overwhelming public response have highlighted the inequalities found in society. The Pediatric Heart Transplant Society is the home of Pediatric Heart Transplant Programs with a mission to advance and support scholarly activities in our field.

The PHTS is challenging itself to become a voice for disadvantaged children with advanced heart failure and heart transplant. We are reaching out to our membership and the wider pediatric heart failure and transplant community to examine the scope of the problem, solicit constructive feedback, and prepare an actionable path forward that will be unique for our organization. 

While the role of healthcare practitioners in times of social injustice and societal distress is difficult to navigate, we as a society must examine broadly whether we are adequately confronting these issues.

Our goals include:
1. Understanding the impact of social injustice in our practice
2. Promoting culturally competent interactions with our families
3. Providing the society membership with education and tools aimed at eliminating disparities
4. Supporting research projects focused on social factors and their impact on transplant and heart failure

Committee Chair

Alfred Asante-Korang, MD
Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital

Committee Members

Juan Carlos Alejos, MD
Shaan Amdani, MD
Scott Auerbach, MD
Carissa Baker-Smith, MD
Neha Bansal, MD, FACC
Carmel Bogle, MD
Antonio Cabrera, MD, FAAP, FACC, FAHA
Jennifer Carapellucci, RN, BSN
Wally Carlo, MD
Jennifer Conway, MD
Jason Hopper Cruz RN MN CCTC
Kevin Daly, MD
Holly Davidson, RN, MSN
Jenifer Espinoza, LMSW, MPA

Melanie Everitt, MD
Maricel Floresca, MD
Joshua Friedland-Little, MD
Daphne Hsu, MD
Aamir Jeewa, MD
Beth Kaufman, MD
Sonya Kirmani, MD
Jake Kleinmahon, MD
Ashwin Lal, MD
Hannah Lee, MS, CPNP
Defne Magnetta, MD
Chad Mao, MD
Deepa Mokshagundam, MD
Leigh-Ann Neal, CPNP-AC

David Peng, MD
Christina Phelps, MD
Jack Price, MD
Kriti Puri, MBBS
Bill Ravekes, MD
Paolo Rusconi, MD
Thomas D. Ryan, MD, PhD
Fawwaz R. Shaw, MD
Simon Urschel, MD
Cullen Wenzler
Lydia Wright, MD
Deip Nandi, MD